City of Rocks ‘21.2

Though my main drive is towards climbing, I am also grateful to do it in the finest settings, and with my favorite people. “The City” as it is called is that and much more. During the mid week it has it all: great camping, relaxed atmosphere, challenging and moderates venues, shade or sun, engaging routes, and wilderness at the same time. Oh, and a ton of what I call the Goods; hundreds of 3-4 star climbs in the sweet spot of 5.8- 5.11. With the amount of climbing I do and have done here (60+ days), my list still is big, and thanks to recent development, its getting bigger!

Can the place keep up? It is only a matter of time before tons of people show up and crowd this jewell as well. More infrastructure is going to be needed if this is inevitable. Until then, enjoy, and help out by giving the vegetation a break, and minimizing your impact (even if it means not climbing there?).

I went on the trip solo, but with plans to meet up with some great friends. I ended up having extended time with Beau, Kate, Rusty, Kristen, Shaun, Audrey, and a brief run in with the Plaid and wife as well! My best memories will always start with finishing Beware of Nesting Egos, This 4 star 5.11b is a unique and just-my-kind-of-route climb. I top-roped it a couple of years ago, and was barely ready to endure the tricky, thin cruxes, one after another! Those chains may have hearing loss after the yells of celebration I let loose with. That, and many more great memories we shared, so thanks guys, and can’t wait to do it again. Favorite routes have links to them.

5-8 Lost world 10b, Drilling Fields, pigs, hired 4p to 11a w/Beau, Kate

5-9 Crimson, oputina, Shock and Awe, Twinkee 4p to 10c

5-10 No Moss,  big brown eyes, Comp Splitter 3p to 11a w/ Rusty, Kristen

5-11 Nesting Egos + 3 4p to 11b w/gang of 5

5-12 Smiley Face, Sexcellent, True Grit 6p to 10c w/Beau

5-13 Conceptual Reality, Bovine attempt 2p 5.9 w/Beau

The drive

Leave a comment