The Valkyrie, Asgard Sentinel

 

Photo by James

After doing the amazing climb called Acid Baby back in 2015 with Jon T., I had kept the Valkyrie route on the list hoping it would be nearly as cool. When James and I climbed it last weekend, we found it to be a very unique route, worth doing for sure. It is a tad confusing however with the pitch layout and the route finding. We managed these difficulties one at a time, key word: time. I found myself constantly second guessing my (and James’) route finding. along the 5-8 pitches of the route, there are ~15 sections to navigate. Each are really fun, yet before you know it you have rope drag, and we didn’t always know where to belay from.. The topo in Blakes book is minimalistic and at times vague. Maybe I have lost some alpine skills over the years? At any rate, it is a great climb, and most people “nail” it just fine. I remember also struggling at the top of Acid B, and not getting to do the spectacular top out, but this go, I damn well made sure I did

Leave a comment