Mongo Ridge, a second ascent, and yet another!

https://alpinevagabonds.com/mount-furys-mongo-ridge-a-second-ascent

Thats Pritis and Jeffs report from 2021!

Update 7-15 -2022 Sam and Lani just made a run at the ridge too! they did the pole this trip, and did the rooster comb bypass ala Priti and Jeff.

I cant wait to hear their story! Its such a crazy climb!!


It is a unique honor to have close friends that are interested in visiting the path my past exploits. Though we are always trying to hit the bullseye of an almost impossible target, the second dartboard ring is pretty sweet as well! I remember being disappointed that I had to start partway up the ridge, but was not disappointed that I didn’t summit real West Fury. Priti and Jeff’s efforts: Their disappointment in the rock quality was palpable, as well as not being able to climb in the same way I did. Though I am a serial sandbagger, I don’t remember being too concerned with the quality of rock, it was just a relief to be able to climb up it at all. Time has a way of softening the pain and the memories. I was certainly concerned with the scale of the ridge, so I do feel bad about encouraging them to try to do the whole thing in the day. There was a good reason I took bivy gear, I guess.


Hats off to my determined and amazing friends! I am so impressed the courage they showed that is required to tackle such a maniacal project.

Leave a comment