Illumination Rock, Rime Dog

Topo courtesy of Zac Riesner

Faced with a 1 day weather window, and deep snow in the mountains, Beau and I headed for the friendly alpine playground of Illumination Rock. We did the most reliable and fun route on the sunny South Face of the I-Rock, It is a route I named after my girlfriends late pet: Rime, our Scottish Deerhound. I had done the route a couple of times before, it is worth repeating for sure. It offers 4 short pitches of outstanding moderate mixed climbing at a lower angle. It also now has a rap anchor at the finish that gets you most of the way down to the South Chamber with a single rope rappel. We had a blast!  Mikes tr, under thin conditions

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Rime, and her beauty.

Rime Dog

Topo courtesy of Tim Olson. copyrighted.

Pitch 2, photo by Beau

p3, the rime chimney, photo by Beau

Crux, pitch 3, by Beau

Comments

Trackbacks

Leave a comment